Book Worm Bookshelf

Standard

Hello all! I have been finishing furniture and posting things on Facebook, but it has been a while since I blogged about a recent furniture piece.  I thought this recent custom order would be perfect to share!

A client was looking for a specific sized book shelf that had glass enclosures and was NOT something from Ikea….  After some hunting on Craigslist, I managed to find the, a knock off of a barrister bookshelf.  It looked just like an authentic one, and once it was refinished you would never know the difference!!  The backing on the piece was flimsy cardboard with a seam running down the middle.  It did not support the bookshelf at all.  I knew I would replace the piece with a story piece of ply.  Here is the piece with the back removed, sanded and ready for paint.

IMG_3496-1

It was easiest to remove the glass in order to spray the entire bookshelf.  It was a little tricky since the shelves folded up and inside, so I had to position the shelf in so many different positions to make sure all areas were covered with paint.

Once the piece was completely painted, and sealed, and the glass back in the case, I put the new solid wood backing on it.  Instantly the entire bookshelf was supported and sturdy.

IMG_3527-1

Here is the finished product!  Pretty close to an original barrister?

 IMG_3529-1 IMG_3532-1 IMG_3530-1 IMG_3533-1

The client found hardware from Anthropologie, and they were the perfect finishing touch!

IMG_3539-1 IMG_3531-1

Be sure to check more out on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RenewedReloved

Leave a comment