“HOOSIERVILLE”

Standard

For those of you who DON’T know, and it’s ok if you don’t, but Hooverville’s were little shanty towns made by homeless people during the Great Depression.  The poor conditions that came with the Great Depression and it’s affect on the people, and the development of these shanty towns blamed President Hoover, hence the name “Hooverville.”  Ok, so what am I getting at?  This custom order I worked on is a “Hoosier” cabinet, but was in such AWFUL condition, I thought I would do a little play on words and call it “Hoosierville” clever, right? I thought so.

Anyway- this is what I was working with:

IMG_0005 IMG_0007

Ultimately, the whole thing needed to be reconstructed.  All I had to work with was the frame.  Even in the pictures above, there are pieces of fresh wood that my father and I cut and placed in it.    We cut a new top, new sides, new shelves:

IMG_0001 IMG_0004 IMG_0003 IMG_0002

Other repairs needed to be made as well.  The underside of the base was missing one of the ornate pieces.  My dad and I traced the other, and skill sawed a replica. (those are my dad’s hands by the way! haha not mine!)

IMG_0101 IMG_0102

Alright, the piece has been rebuilt at this point, and was ready for paint.  the doors were a different color the the frame, as requested by the customer.  I suggested that since the piece was so old not to replace the hardware because the holes would NEVER line up the same.  Instead I sprayed them.

IMG_0108 IMG_0109

A lot of love and labor later…. I have to say the piece came out incredible.

IMG_0114 IMG_0116 IMG_0113 IMG_0112 IMG_0115 IMG_0110 IMG_0117

Please be sure to follow Renewed Reloved on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RenewedReloved

Leave a comment